Book Reviews

Sunday, February 7, 2016 
Title: Not Without My Daughter
Author: Betty Mahmoody
Age: 14+ 
Genre: Non-Fiction Biography
Content Rating:  PG-13 For mature ideas, not inappropriateness.
My Rating: 6/5 ******
Average time: 10-15 hours (if you were to read it in one sitting) 
Pages: 423
Summary: (from
Betty Mahmoody and her husband, Dr. Sayyed Bozorg Mahmoody ('Moody'), came to Iran from the USA to meet Moody's family. With them was their four-year-old daughter, Mahtob. Appalled by the squalor of their living conditions, horrified by what she saw of a country where women are merely chattels and Westerners are despised, Betty soon became desperate to return to the States. But Moody and his often vicious family had other plans. Mother and daughter became prisoners of an alien culture, hostages of an increasingly tyrannical and violent man.

Betty began to try to arrange an escape. Evading Moody's sinister spy network, she secretly met sympathizers opposed to Khomeini's savage regime. But every scheme that was suggested to her meant leaving Mahtob behind forever... 

My Thoughts: I bought this book at a yard sale for a dollar and let me just say, it is one of the best dollars that I have ever spent on a book. Where do I even begin with this review?It's hard to rate somebody's life story. I can't comment on the literary value of this book or the strategic placement of the words. This book made me feel so many things from sadness, to worry, and empathy. The way that Betty tells her story is so intriguing that I would highly HIGHLY recommend it as a must-read for everyone.

If you have been following my book review series for a while, you would know that it is very unusual for me to rate a book 6/5 but this book was the exception. So is it worth the read? 

Heck yes :)

<3/ Audrey

(P.S. If you have read this book, comment down below your thoughts. I would love to know)

(Sorry for the quality of the picture. It was the only one I could find.)
Friday January 16, 2015
Title: Letters to Julia
Author: Barbara Ware Holmes
Genre: Coming of Age/ Realistic Fiction
Age: 13+ (just because the main character is in her older teens)
Content Rating: G 
My Rating: 5/5 *****
Average time: 3-5 hours
Pages: 320
Summary: (from goodreads)
Liz Beech wants nothing more than to escape her crazy family and be a writer. Channeling all her energy and drive into her work, Liz becomes an astute and humorous observer of the people around her. When she begins writing to Julia Steward Jones, a professional editor, the two become fast friends. But Julia doesn't realize the impact that her words have on others until she has gone too far. This unforgettable novel gives readers a glimpse into the minds of two compelling and rich characters.

My Thoughts:
Before I dive too deeply into this book review, I would love to let all of you reading this to drop whatever electronic device you are holding, and go buy this book. Hunt it down; take no prisoners; I promise you, it will be 100% worth it.

This was hands down, one of the most beautiful books that I've ever read. Every page was pure poetry and it was a delight to read. For someone who loves writing, such as myself, this book is very relatable. I would recommend this to EVERYBODY and ANYBODY looking for a good read.

Saturday October 25 2014
The Poisonwood Bible
Hi Guys!
It feels like I haven't done a book review in FOREVER so today, I will be reviewing for you!!! I had to read this book for English and I really liked it and recommend it to anybody looking for a slow but good read.

Genre: Historical Fiction (1960's)
Age: 13+
Content Rating: PG 13, for ideas and themes expressed even though it is a totally clean book.
My Rating: ****

(summary from the back of the book)

The Poisonwood Bible is a story told by the wife and four daughters of Nathan Price, a fierce, evangelical Baptist who takes his family and mission to the Belgian Congo in 1959. They carry with them everything they believe they will need from home, but soon find that all of it—from garden seeds to Scripture—is calamitously transformed on African soil. What follows is a suspenseful epic of one family's tragic undoing and remarkable reconstruction over the course of three decades in post-colonial Africa.

The novel is set against one of the most dramatic political chronicles of the twentieth century: the Congo's fight for independence from Belgium, the murder of its first elected prime minister, the CIA coup to install his replacement, and the insidious progress of a world economic order that robs the fledgling African nation of its autonomy. 

I really enjoyed this book because:
A. It's entertaining without being cheesy.
B. It's a new take on a plot that is the base of every chick-lit ever written.

I love it because it has all the parts of a chick-lit (love with an obstacle, sisters trying to be better than each other, adaptations to awkward situations) but Kingsolver approaches it totally differently than one would expect. I have what some may call an obsession with historical fiction and the fact that this book brought historical fiction and modern day ideas into one book, is absolutely genius. I would highly recommend this to anybody.

Monday June 23 2014
Shayla Witherwood- A Half Faerie Tale

Genre: Fantasy
Age: 12+
Content Rating: PG, for mild language
My Rating: ***
(summary from the back of the book)

Shayla Witherwood is not exactly normal. First, she's spent her entire life being home-schooled, traveling in an RV around the country with her grandparents. And second, there's the kind of inescapable fact that her mom was a genuine faerie.

But now that she's starting a real life in regular high school, Shayla desperately needs to stay out of trouble in both worlds, because even her faerie powers might not be enough to protect her from what's coming.

This book wasn't bad. It was a fun easy read even though it's not particularly life changing literature. I would reccommend it to anybody looking to read something that's not exactly mind boggling. Ever since I was little, I have really been into fantasy books like these. I probobly would have enjoyed this more if I was a little bit younger.

Sunday May 11 2014
Confectionately Yours book 1 &2

Genre: Realistic Fiction

Age: 11+
Content Rating: G
My Rating: *****

(summaries  from

Hayley's world is far from perfect: her parents have divorced, her mom has lost her job, and she and her sister Chloe are stuck sharing a bedroom in their grandmother's apartment. Luckily, Hayley has a knack for baking cupcakes -- and cupcakes always make life just a little sweeter! But when she and her best friend Artie start drifting apart, she realizes that it's going to take more than sugar and spice to make things nice.

I bought this book at the thrift store the other day. I really quite enjoy quick chicklit reads that are also clean and I was really pleased with these two. They are funny, easy to read, and in my opinion, quite enjoyable. If you are looking for a good day and a half girly read, I would totally recommend these.

Sunday April 20 2014
The Fault in Our Stars

The Fault in Our StarsGenre: Realistic FictionAge: 13+Content Rating: PG, for mild languageMy Rating: ****

(summary from

Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel's story is about to be completely rewritten.

I borrowed this book from Cassi about 48'ish hours ago and to say I devoured it would be an understatement. This book is a fairly easy read and anybody who enjoys a good chick-lit would get through this book no problem. I absolutely love the wording that this book uses and I could find so many inspiring and uplifting quotes from this book. Overall, I was disappointed with the ending which is what brought my rating down but I did enjoy the book and I would recommend it to anybody.

Friday January 17 2014
The Book Thief

Genre: Historical Fiction (WWII)
Age: 13+
Content Rating: PG-13, for mild language and just the idea of World War 2
My Rating: *****

(summary from
It is 1939. Nazi Germany. The country is holding its breath. Death has never been busier, and will become busier still.

Liesel Meminger is a foster girl living outside of Munich, who scratches out a meager existence for herself by stealing when she encounters something she can’t resist–books. With the help of her accordion-playing foster father, she learns to read and shares her stolen books with her neighbors during bombing raids as well as with the Jewish man hidden in her basement. 

I had to read this book for my English class and I honestly have to say that I cried the entire way through. These kind of books have a way of drawing you in and not letting you go until you are finished. It was fantastically written and now I'm honestly afraid that the movie will ruin it. Five out of Five stars and I would definitely recommend this to anybody who loves historical fiction.

Wednesday August 28 2013

Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Lightning Thief

Genre: Fantasy, Magic, Greek Mythology
Age: 10+
Content Rating: G, there is nothing in this book for parents to be concerned about.
My Rating: *****

Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school... again. And that's the least of his troubles. Lately, mythological monsters and the gods of Mount Olympus seem to be walking straight out of the pages of Percy's Greek mythology textbook and into his life. And worse, he's angered a few of them. Zeus' master lightning bolt has been stolen, and Percy is the prime suspect.

Now Percy and his friends have just ten days to find and return Zeus' stolen property and bring peace to a warring Mount Olympus. But to succeed on his quest, Percy will have to do more than catch the true thief: he must come to terms with the father who abandoned him; solve the riddle of the Oracle, which warns him of betrayal by a friend; and unravel a treachery more powerful than the gods themselves.

First of all can I say one thing. THIS BOOK WAS AWESOME! I was assigned to read this in English class and I finished it in a weekend. It is a very easy read if you're looking for a last minute book to read for a project. Overall this was definitely one of the best books that I've ever read so you should check it out!

Wednesday June 12 2013

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone, J.K. Rowling
Genre: Fantasy, Magic
Age: 8+
Content Rating: G, there is nothing in this book for parents to be concerned about.
My Rating: *****

Harry Potter's life on Privet Drive is undeniably miserable. Every day he has to put up with the constant whining of his cousin Dudley, His Aunt Petunia's constant nagging to get a haircut, and His Uncle's rude habits. Harry holds no hope for his future to be better until strange things start happening. Owl's everywhere, post on Sunday, and disappearing objects. Little does he know, he is famous in another world.

When the Dursley's travel to try and get away from the oddness, Harry receives a letter informing him that he is a wizard. He goes away from Privet Drive to Hogwarts, a school of witchcraft and wizardry where he meets his two best friends: Ron Weasley, and Hermione Granger. Join Harry on an adventure of a lifetime as he discovers the secrets within the stone walls of Hogwarts.

Honestly, I read this book in about two hours. It is a very quick read that just about anybody will love. It is entertaining all the way through and the plot is fast and lively. A good read if you like magic and things that are not real.

Audrey <3

Sunday May 12, 2013

The Perfect Token, Cathryn Tew

Genre:Romance, LDS fiction
Age: 13+ (for maturity)
Content Rating: G, there is nothing in this book for parents to be concerned about.
My Rating: *****

(summary from the back of the book)
When an old promise not to kiss anyone before she's engaged leads to a messy break-up, Brietta's ready to give up on love and lose herself in her engineering studies, flying lessons, and job as a diving instructor. But life has other plans. Brietta soon runs into John, a flight instructor who seems to be everything she's dreamed about --yet, she isn't sure she's ready to fly off into the sunset with him.

John is completely taken with Brietta from their first meeting and plans to capture her heart. Except, he's not the only one on who has Brietta on his radar. And when Brietta overhears John talking about an engagement ring and another girl, she begins to doubt everything she feels. Filled with humor, and a touch of sass, The Perfect Token reminds you that finding love is usually a matter of finding yourself.

For the level of romance this book is, it is surprisingly clean. My dad got me this book because he is absolutely obsessed with anything and everything that flies even though, airplanes play a very minimal part in the story. I would wait to read this until you are 13 plus because it is quite mature for children. Overall, I love this book and I highly recommend it to anybody looking for a good clean romance novel.

Sunday April 28, 2013

Pretties, Scott Westerfield

Genre: Dystopian, Science Fiction
Age: 12+
Rating: PG for mild language
My Rating: ****

Tally has finally become pretty. She is popular, she has awesome clothes, and a totally hot boyfriend! Could it get any more bubbly? Suddenly, Tally's world comes crashing down when an old friend from her ugly days comes and gives her a note that she wrote to herself and she suddenly remembers why she had to become pretty: there is a cure. Tally must choose: Pretty and stupid, or Ugly and Bubbly?

I really liked this book. It definitely wasn't as good as the first book but it was still a fabulous sequel. I got this book at my local library and I know that it's also available at my school library. I would highly recommend this series to anyone looking for a fun dystopian society book. 

Audrey <3

Friday April 19, 2013

The Princess Plot, Kirsten Boie
Genre: Action, Adventure
Age: 11+
Rating: PG for mild action and mild language
My Rating:*****

Jenna has just won the starring role in a film about a princess — sweet! In the wink of an eye, she´s taken to a remote, romantic kingdom called Scandia for the "shoot." But something´s wrong: First, she finds out she bears an almost identical resemblance to the real princess, who has run away following the death of her father, the king. Then she learns that the conniving regent plans to use her to take control of the country, now being fought over by rebels. Jenna will soon find out why she is really in Scandia and why she looks so much like the missing princess.

I really enjoyed this book. It was well written and had a very active plot. The author used very good detail when describing the places and the people in the book. Overall, the book was really great and I highly reccommend it to anybody looking for a girly take on an action packed book. This is book one in the series and coming soon will be a review on the sequel!

Audrey <3

Monday April 15, 2013

Uglies, Scott Westerfield

Genre: Dystopian, Science Fiction
Age: 10+
Rating: PG for mild language
My Rating: *****

In a world of extreme beauty, anyone normal is ugly. Set in the future, everyone is turned "Pretty" through extreme cosmetic surgery at age 16. Tally Youngblood want's nothing more than to become pretty. When she meets a girl named Shay, Tally suddenly realizes that maybe being pretty isn't always a good thing. Shay talks of running away to a place called the smoke, a settlement for those who choose not to become pretty. When Shay runs, Special Circumstances, an elite team of government agents, gets involved. Tally knows too much and she can not become pretty until she finds Shay and reveals the Smoke. Tally will soon find out that there is more to the Smoke than she realizes and being pretty isn't what it seems.

I honestly could not put this book down. It is extremely well written and has a fabulous plot that keeps the reader hooked all the way through. There is some mild language but I would say that anybody ten and up could read this. Right now, I am in the middle of the second book in the series and it is just as exciting as the first so expect to see a review on that coming up soon!
Audrey <3


  1. I just read the Poisonwood Bible for my AP English class. It was a really good book, but the fact I had to annotate it made me a little sad. I also LOVE all of the Percy Jackson series. Mythology always peaks my interest, so I tend to gravitate towards books like that. And harry Potter. What a legend.

    I'm currently reading the Secret Life of Bee's. I am only a quarter of the way through, but so far I like it a lot.

    Tara xx

    1. I'm going to have to add it to my reading list :) Thanks for the recommendation Tara!
      <3/ Audrey


Leave me a comment!!!! :) I try and respond to them all!